No more excuses

The Burning Bush

Image by spratmackrel via Flickr

“And now the cry of the Israelites has reached me, and I have seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.”

But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

And God said, “I will be with you” (Exodus 3:9-12).

When God calls us to do something that seems out of our range of possibilities to us, we drag out what I call the “Moses excuses” and start listing to God the reasons we can’t do what he has asked us. We think, “Who am I?” We are actually asking, “Who are you?”

God makes it clear to Moses and to us that he is Lord over all. He is the Alpha and Omega. He is our creator and knows us inside and out. God knows our limits, but that doesn’t stop him from calling us. You know why? He knows what he is capable of doing through us. So if we truly believe God to be who he claims to be, it is only a question of obedience. God promises that he will go with us. He will supply everything we need to complete the call. In exchange, we will see his glory at work. What a joyous time that will be.

Prayer: Lord Jesus, thank you for the times that you call me to do for you the things I cannot possibly do on my own. I love to see you at work. I pray that others will be drawn to you through your glorifying work and miraculous ways. Amen

Faith Tip: Rip up the list of excuses of why you can’t be used of God today. Fall freely into his waiting arms and let him lift you up to the call he has for you.

Leave a Reply

