Remember

Rainbow Valley

Image by rwangsa via Flickr

Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth” (Genesis 9:16).

Visuals are a great help in remembering things. I put my pills out on the counter that I need to take before bed, I write a list of things that need to be done each day, and an empty dog dish reminds me it’s time to feed Charlie. We use calendars, blackberries, and iPods to help us remember important dates and times. What if we only had our memory to count on to remember everything—scary thought.

While God placed a rainbow in the clouds to remember his covenant with us, I doubt very much that God needed the symbol to remember. God doesn’t forget a thing. It’s hard to imagine having all the details from the beginning to the end, but he does. I think the rainbow is more for us to remember his covenant. It reminds us of his love, faithfulness and constant grace in our lives. Another symbol to remember God’s love is the cross. Jesus suffered and died to save us. He didn’t have to, but chose to do so. What greater love is there?

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for your love and care each day. I pray that I remember the symbols of your love throughout the year. Amen

Faith tip: What are the symbols of God’s love for you? Thank him for them.

Leave a Reply

