Will God find someone?

Hungarian Telephone Factory - 1937. Budapest

Image via Wikipedia

“I looked for someone among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found no one. (Ezekiel 22:30)

Like anyone else, I get a lot of sales calls on my phone. I would really rather not have them call, so I use phone ID to try and sort through those calls. Sometimes though there is a call on a number that I don’t recognize, but it doesn’t look like a sales call either. Most of those times, I answer them and hope for the best.

To me, this is one of the saddest verses in scripture. Sometimes we treat God’s call to pray like a call from a sales person. We don’t want it and we don’t answer the call. God was calling for someone to stand in the gap for a nation…and there was no one who answered the call…no one! God’s heart must have been broken. Is God’s heart still breaking over prayerlessness? How many tragedies could have been avoided if we had only prayed?

Tomorrow is a day to give thanks to God. Remember to give thanks for the avenue of prayer so that we can connect to God. We can come to God boldly and without fear. He loves to hear our voice and desires our communion.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for prayer. Give me a passion to hear your voice as you desire to hear mine. Amen.

Faith tip: Listen for your spiritual phone to ring. What does God want to talk to you about?

Leave a Reply

