What will not be forgotten

A homeless man in New York with the American f...

Image via Wikipedia

God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him as you have helped his people and continue to help them. (Hebrews 6:10)

The woman carefully bandaged the old man’s arm. The bed sores were getting worse, so she wanted to take every precaution to fight against infection. Looking into his sunken eyes, she felt compassion for him. The man’s daughter came home and put some groceries on the table.

“You have been so great, Aggie, in taking care of my father. I don’t know what I would do without you.”

She patted the girl’s arm. “It is my pleasure, Sue. God is so good.”

“I wish you would let me pay you for your time and care.”

Thank you for offering, but I really don’t need the money. I just want to be where God is working. I imagine myself taking care of Jesus himself when I care for others. I am so blessed.”

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Sometimes we wonder how people can serve others in what the world says are lowly ways. Being a servant is what God has called us to be. Jesus was a servant. He modeled the pattern for servant hood. He gave it all for us.

Some strive to be remembered after they are gone from this life, but all things on earth will be no more. However, we have the promise that God will not forget how we love him and love his people. That will never be erased.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for the opportunities I have to serve you. I pray that I can see you in all the people I serve and continue to show them your love. Amen.

Faith tip: Discern between the things you do today that will perish with the earth and that will be remembered by God always.

Leave a Reply

