Joy Restoration

Jesus on the wall of the senior Home

Image by freestone via Flickr

Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. (Psalm 51:12)

Sin creates chaos. Whenever we decide to go our own way and not God’s, we are walking a different path not meant for us. At first it may feel like the right way to go as we envision the things in life we will enjoy by our hand. We are certain that we will experience much joy. But then there is a patch of road that is bumpy, and we think that will pass and we will find smooth traveling again. Then we find parts of the road missing, or forks in the road and not knowing which way to go, and then finally we come to a dead end…the end of ourselves. We have forgotten the last time we experienced real joy in our travels for it has been so long.

A reminder comes to you. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest,” (Matthew 11:28). You remember the loving voice of Jesus. You think you are unworthy of any attention by God, but he still beckons you to come. He wraps his loving arms around you and tells you of his love and how glad he is to see you. The sadness you feel begins to feel like something else. What is it? Joy.

Prayer: Forgive me, Father, when I have chosen to go my way and not yours. Thank you for inviting me back into your loving arms and healing me so that I can experience your joy. Amen

Faith tip: Do you need a nice long hug from Jesus today? He’s ready.

Leave a Reply

