Designer Clothes

Description unavailable

Image by Pierre LaScott via Flickr

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. (Colossians 3:12)

As I waited in the checkout line at the grocery store, I noticed the fistful of coupons coming from her purse and heard the audible sigh from those behind me. It was obvious that the clerk wasn’t thrilled either as they took the coupons and started scanning them coming to one that wouldn’t work. Frustrated, they looked on the receipt to see if the correct product was purchased and then manually entered the coupon savings. The woman checking out looked at me and said she was sorry. I said it wasn’t a problem. I encouraged her on her coupon tenacity sharing that I cut them out and normally left them at home. I chose to be kind and patient. Everyone in the line and the clerk had a choice to make on how they would respond.

If we understand that we are truly God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, I believe that would make a difference in our choices. The sense of belonging and focus on the kingdom sets a direction for us to follow. God’s love for us is a blessing, and we are blessed to be a blessing to others. Showing God’s love to others is a choice, and can be done in all circumstances.

Prayer: Your wonderful love for me, dear Lord, is reason enough for me to show love to others. I pray that I can wear your designs of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience to your glory and honor. Amen

Faith Tip: Put on God’s designer clothes and practice with each person you come in contact with today. Make it your choice to do so.

Leave a Reply

