Be Expressive

Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure_0748

Image by Jason Pier in DC via Flickr

“I, even I, am the LORD, and apart from me there is no savior. I have revealed and saved and proclaimed— I, and not some foreign god among you. You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “that I am God.” (Isaiah 43:11-12)

I was really impressed with the outpouring of love to survivors and family members at Race for the Cure to raise funds for the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. The community came out to support the effort in big ways. Over 7,000 people registered to be a part of this event. There was no doubt that the people there believed in the hope of finding a cure. It was posted everywhere, it was sung, it was cheered, flags were waved, it was worn on shirts and hats, there was little blinking pink ribbons worn—it was everywhere. They were all witnesses to the fact that a cure will be found. There was hope.

Imagine the same type of gala for God. I know that the real party will be in heaven, but what could we do now to express our belief and hope in God? God said that we are his witnesses that he is God. Do we show great fervor or do we keep it undercover and hope the message gets through somehow? Each day gives us the opportunity to show what we believe about God. People need to hear about the hope we have in God. People can be misled to follow foreign gods if they don’t know the truth. Share the hope you have and save a soul.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for the opportunities you give us to share with others that you are God and there is no one else besides you. I pray I have courage to express my hope in you every day. Amen.

Faith Tip: Looks for opportunities today to show your hope in God.

Leave a Reply

