The Real Struggle

Archangel Michael tramples Satan

Image via Wikipedia

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. (Ephesians 6:10-12)

I remember holding my first large prayer leaders meeting at our church. Prayer leaders from the community gathered to meet, pray and discuss prayer ministry. About ten minutes before the meeting started, my cell phone rang in my office. I just happen to walk in there for something and my phone started ringing on my desk. I picked it up and it was my husband. He said he was in an accident with his truck and was hurt. No police came when they were called because they thought it was a joke. My husband was riding down the road, and the weather was hot, and a car passed him from the other direction, but before they passed they threw a cold water balloon at his windshield which shattered it and made him run off the road.

I quickly gathered the prayer facilitators from my church, explained what happened, and that I had to go. They were confident and equipped to run that meeting. In fact, prayer went up a notch because of the incident that night. The devil’s schemes to end the prayer meeting were beaten by the Spirit of God.

But day by day, the struggle continues for all of us in regards to praying and worshiping God. What happens during your day that diverts you from prayer and worship? Is there a misunderstanding? Does the car break down when you need it to go to church? Remember, there is a spiritual battle going on. You need the spiritual armor that God has provided for you.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for the ways you protect us from the evil one. You thwart his plans and bring honor to your holy name. I pray that I remember to always be wearing your armor and be ready for any attack. Amen.

Faith Tip: When you run into a struggle today with someone or something, step back and remember that it isn’t against flesh and blood, but against the powers of darkness. Pray for God’s discernment, strength and peace to maneuver through the situation.

Leave a Reply

