Competent Confidence

Schooltandarts / School dentist

Image by Nationaal Archief via Flickr

Such confidence as this is ours through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. (2 Corinthians 3:4-5).

I went to the dentist yesterday for my regular cleaning, and after examining my teeth, my dentist said that I had a small cavity and that was really unusual (I’m assuming he meant for someone my age). So when I got home, I did some research on cavities and chemo. I learned that it was very common for people to get cavities after having chemo because the chemo messes with the enzymes in the saliva. In fact, many people had multiple cavities with one lady having 26. They were all small, but had to be treated. The information also suggested rinsing with fluoride rinses such as ACT during chemo. Wish I would have known that. So I called the dentist with the information I found in case they had other patients going through chemo. They were very thankful for it. I was surprised that I could help in this manner with someone who was very educated in their field.

As educational ministries begin this Fall, I see the many opportunities we have to help each other grow in our faith. Perhaps you may feel that you lack the expertise to lead a class for others. God usually doesn’t look for experts. He looks for those who are obedient and dependent on him. Whatever role you may be called to in serving, know that God is ready to equip you with whatever you need to fulfill the call.

Prayer: Lord, for whatever you call me to do today, I pray that I will be confident, not in what I can do, but what you will do. Amen.

Faith tip: Consider the possibilities of what God may be calling you to do today. Listen carefully for his direction, and go forward in doing it trusting him all the way.

Leave a Reply

