Conforming or Transforming?

School of fundamentalist fish

Image by Colin Purrington via Flickr

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God‘s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. (Romans 12:2)

I remember as a teenager that it was so important to me to fit in by wearing the right kind of jeans, having my hair a certain way and other things that teens would prioritize as most important. I was conforming to the standard of my peers. What was considered cool at that time was communicated through the magazines I read and advertisements I saw on TV.

I am really glad to have grown past all that—one benefit of growing older. There is true freedom experienced in being myself and maturing into the person God meant me to be. My mind has the opportunity of being renewed each day. It is a choice I must make. Do I want to strive after the things of this world, or do I want to experience true peace and joy in just being who I am? I believe God’s will is experienced in being true to who I am and allowing him to transform me from the inside out.

Prayer: I praise you, Lord, for making me unique. Your plan for my life is meant only for me and I pray that I can follow your plan daily. Amen

Faith Tip: Consider your own uniqueness today. What makes you who you are? Praise God for that. Is there something in your life that is of that pattern of this world? Discard it. You will love the “new you” being created each day in the loving hands of the potter.

Leave a Reply

