I Don’t Understand

newspapers (Tehrān)

Image by birdfarm via Flickr

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

There are many things in this world that I don’t understand why they happen. For example, why do some people get cancer and others don’t? Why do some survive and other don’t? Cancer is just one topic of the many “why questions” I have in the events of the world. I don’t have any answers, but I do know it’s not up to me to have all the answers. What I am responsible for is trusting God with all of these things. If I depend on my understanding, it would be very limited. It’s interesting in the verse that Solomon uses the word “all” in describing that we need to trust with all of our heart, and in all our ways we are to acknowledge him. This is a full commitment.

So when I don’t understand why something happens, I can acknowledge the Lord who does understand and has control over it, and trust him. The promise is that my paths will be straight and that I will be moving in the right direction…towards the kingdom.

Prayer: Thank you Lord for being in control of all things in life. I can trust you for you have the plan all in place. I pray that I acknowledge you in each step of faith.

Faith Tip: Is there something you are worried about today. Hand it over to God and really make an effort to fully trust him with it. Acknowledge him every time you try to take it back.

Leave a Reply

