Pursuing God’s goal

peach pie

Image by Stacie Joy for CTTC via Flickr

Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God‘s law but am under Christ‘s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings. (1 Corinthians 9:19-23)

This morning I am already blessed with cooler temperatures, coffee, and a wonderful smelling peach pie baking in the oven. It seems like God gives and gives and gives, and we are to follow that example and be a blessing to others. The goal is to win as many as possible for the kingdom of God. Paul knew the importance of doing whatever was needed to pursue this goal.

The peach pie baking in the oven is part of a kingdom assignment given to a dear lady who takes this goal seriously. At our church, 12 people were given $50 each to use in ways to further the kingdom. The lady who made the pies used the $50 to purchase pie making supplies, made the pies, and is selling them to make money for an organization that works toward the kingdom goal. This is just one of the 12 assignments. The others I have heard about are also dynamic. I’m excited, because I know God is going to work powerfully through all of them.

What’s your kingdom assignment today? Listen carefully to what God is saying. He has a perfect plan for you today.

Prayer: I thank you, Lord, for the kingdom assignments that you give me. I pray that I may be intentional on following your promptings. It’s all for your glory and honor. Amen.

Faith tip: Look around you today. Try and find out the kingdom assignment God has for you by praying and listening. You will be blessed.

5 thoughts on “Pursuing God’s goal

Leave a Reply

