Grace, not works

And if by grace, then it is no longer by works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace. (Romans 11:6)

If you work hard, you will succeed. This is a message that our society believes in and acts on. While I know it is an ideal that is promising, it is not 100% guaranteed. If my husband works hard in his garden, he should have a bounty to harvest. This is not always true. Other factors such as ground conditions and weather play a role.

That’s why I am so glad that we don’t have to work for our salvation. If we had to depend on what we did to be saved, many of us would fall short. Jesus did it all. It is by grace we are saved and it is 100% guaranteed.

Prayer: Jesus, thank you for paying for my sin on the cross. The price was so high. This is a great demonstration of your love for me. I pray that I will embrace the grace I have received and be a reflection of it. Amen

Faith tip: Find ways to show grace to others today.

Leave a Reply

