Showing love through patience

Love is patient (1 Corinthians 13:4).

It happened again this morning. My computer ran super slow and I had to reboot three times before it was running decently. This is a huge frustration for me for which I have very little patience.

How is my patience when it comes to people? I would like to say that I have a lot of patience and don’t need any growing in this area, but the truth is that I do need to grow in patience with others. Sometimes it seems like the ones closest to me I have less patience, or perhaps I feel freer to express my impatience with them. I’ve heard that the areas we are impatient with others are the areas we are impatient with ourselves. Showing love to others means to work at being patient, not just pretending to be patient. Consider the great patience God has shown us. That can be the measuring tool of how much we can grow in patience. We already possess that fruit of the Spirit, we just need to exercise it.

Prayer: I thank you, Lord, for the great patience you have shown me. I pray that I can be truly patient with others showing them a reflection of your great love. Amen.

Faith tip: Make the decision to be patient with someone today showing God’s wonderful patience. It is a gift to you from his Spirit.

Leave a Reply

