Thirsty?

As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, O God.

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?
(Psalm 42:1-2)

After eating some Mexican food, I was so thirsty the remainder of the day. I would drink juice, and then water hoping to satisfy my thirst. But then in a little while, I would be thirsty again.

My thirst reminds me of the thirst we should have in meeting with God. I think this could be a measuring tool used to see how our relationship with God is doing. Do we feel parched if we miss a day without spending time with God? If not, this may be an indicator that something in our life has been given priority over God. Are we thirsty for something other than God?

Quenching our thirst is done by God’s remarkable presence. Drink deep of his loving word to you and be filled by the Spirit that resides in you. Splash around God’s refreshment—perhaps others around you will get wet with God’s living water.

Prayer: Dear Lord, I thank you for your incredible presence. With you, I feel refreshed and can face the day stronger, more confident, and with peace knowing you journey with me. Amen.

Faith Tip: Spend some time drinking in God’s word today and let it quench your thirst. Follow up each day and see how God’s refreshment affects you.

Leave a Reply

