Freedom in forgiveness

“And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.” (Mark 11:25)

When I am in the kitchen and my husband is in another room, and the dishwasher is running, there is a chance…a good chance that if I say something to him, he won’t hear most of it. The dishwasher is blocking our communication. Either I have to turn the dishwasher off or go to where he is to tell him what I said.

When we are praying, sometimes there are blockages in our communication with God. God can clearly hear what is on our hearts in prayer, but it has to do with our part of the prayer communication. If we don’t forgive someone, that causes a blockage in our communication because our heart and mind are not clear in praying freely. We are being disobedient in holding on to bitterness when God has paid the price in forgiving us and has commanded us to forgive.

Forgiving someone doesn’t mean it was okay they did it. It means that you are trusting God with it and you are releasing its hold on you. It means to go back to the basics in loving God and loving others. In doing this, God will act on the prayers of someone who is free from spiritual blockages.

Prayer: Holy Spirit, please bring forth in me any bitterness that I need to get rid of in my spirit. I pray for your peace that passes understanding in all things.

Faith Tip: Pray that God show you someone you need to forgive, and then make the choice to do it. Be free from the prison of bitterness.

2 thoughts on “Freedom in forgiveness

  1. Hello. First time reading your blog and your devotional is great! I love reading something simple yet applicable in my life. You know once we understand what forgiveness is all about it’s not that hard because we know it’s for our own wellness and benefit.

    I was blessed! Thanks for the post!

    journeywriter

Leave a Reply

