Being prepared

Then Jesus went around teaching from village to village. Calling the Twelve to him, he sent them out two by two and gave them authority over evil spirits.

These were his instructions: “Take nothing for the journey except a staff—no bread, no bag, no money in your belts. Wear sandals but not an extra tunic. Whenever you enter a house, stay there until you leave that town. And if any place will not welcome you or listen to you, shake the dust off your feet when you leave, as a testimony against them.”

They went out and preached that people should repent. They drove out many demons and anointed many sick people with oil and healed them. (Mark 8:6-13)

I believe it is a Boy Scout rule to be ready for anything making sure that all items are packed for hikes or campouts to meet any need that may come up. I know when I pack for a trip, I want to make sure I have everything I need…just in case. I even take extra coffee…just in case the hotel ran out.

What Jesus is telling the disciples is quite a different plan. He said to take nothing except a staff, sandals and one tunic. I wonder what the disciples thought of this plan. Were survival methods coming to mind? What Jesus was telling them was to trust him…not to worry about anything except their mission and he would take care of the rest. Doesn’t he tell us that same message when he calls us to mission?

The results of the disciples trusting Jesus are amazing. They preached the good news about Jesus, drove out demons and healed people. God is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. Imagine what you can do by trusting him.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for giving each of us a call of mission. May I trust you entirely with the call you give to me. Let me not waste time worrying, but use my time well trusting and praising.

Faith tip: Think about what the Lord is calling you to do today. Will you trust him?

Leave a Reply

