Offensive Opportunities

I tell you not to resist an evil person. But whoever slaps you on your right cheek, turn the other to him also. (Matthew 5:39)

As a Christian writer, I experience times when readers who are not Christian feel offended by my sharing of God’s truth, and they let me know about it. We have all been there—insulted, misunderstood, mistreated, maligned, and more. Justice seems out of reach. What about our rights? What does Jesus say? Sometimes his teachings are tough. I believe Jesus wants it to become part of our nature to forgive the offense and shine the light of Christ to the offender by showing them God’s love. There is no instruction on making sure our rights are met, or that we get justice. However, the Bible does say that we are to give justice.

Prayer: Lord, I know your word is true and that your plan is best. I pray that I can show your love at those times when it’s difficult. You have experienced it all, and still loved and forgave us. May that become a part of my nature, so others see you in me. Amen.

Faith tip: Make a decision at the beginning of today of how you will respond to an offense. You may be given the opportunity to show the light of Christ.

Leave a Reply

