Influencing Style

When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus. (Acts 4:13)

Have you ever noticed how you take on characteristics of those you are with for awhile? If you are in the South in an area where there is a definite difference in how words are said, or in the East, which also has a different way of saying things, you begin to mimic their style of speaking. It may be a conscious or subconscious act, but there is a difference. I know that I have said things in a way that my husband has said them, for example, those Dutch terms he learned as a child.

In the same way, Peter and John were influenced by Jesus as they spent time with him. Their words and action reflected that and could be seen by others. It makes me wonder if others can see that I have been with Jesus during prayer and quiet times. Do my words and actions reflect the Lord’s?

Prayer: Lord, thank you for being a constant presence in my life. I pray that I am influenced by you in all that I say and do, so that others can see you through my life. Amen.

Faith tip: Take note of how Jesus has influenced your life, and in turn, how you have influenced others with the influence of Jesus.

One thought on “Influencing Style

Leave a Reply

