Do I Have Your Attention?

Meanwhile, Saul was still breathing out murderous threats against the Lord’s disciples. He went to the high priest and asked him for letters to the synagogues in Damascus, so that if he found any there who belonged to the Way, whether men or women, he might take them as prisoners to Jerusalem. As he neared Damascus on his journey, suddenly a light from heaven flashed around him. He fell to the ground and heard a voice say to him, “Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?”

“Who are you, Lord?” Saul asked.

“I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting,” he replied. “Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.” (Acts 9:1-6)

Have you ever been in your car driving down the road listening to some great music and singing along totally oblivious to anyone else perhaps in the car next to you? I know people have said to me that they saw me on the road and they were waving and honking to get my attention, but to no avail. I was too focused on what I was doing to be distracted. I know I have seen other drivers truly enjoying the songs they were listening as the steering wheel becomes a bongo, and their head swings back and forth, and sometimes, if their window is cracked open, you can hear their voice above the music. They, too, would be hard to distract.

In a world full of distractions, how does God get our attention? I believe it is probably different for each one of us. For some, it may be sickness, others it may be a whisper, but for Paul it was “a light from heaven.” Can we make the choice to be attentive to what God has to say to us? Making the choice to watch and listen for God will enable us to be quick in obedience to God. Hopefully, it won’t take lightning from heaven to get our attention.

Prayer: Thank you, Lord, for the many times you speak to us in various ways. I pray that I may be attentive to what you have to say. If you ask something of me, I pray I will be quick in obedience. Amen.

Faith tip: Make it a choice today to watch and listen for God in all you do. Pray for clarification, if needed. God is faithful. Give thanks for the opportunities God gives to you this day.

2 thoughts on “Do I Have Your Attention?

Leave a Reply

